Perry softball team named for several academic honors

Libbie Randall - Sports
Grace Stewart runs to third base in a recent game. PHOTO BY LIBBIE RANDALL/THE PERRY CHIEF

Several Perry softball players have recently been recognized for their efforts and achievements in the classroom and on the field.

Johanna Diw was named to the Raccoon River Conference All-Conference 1st Team and Alyssa Kruger was named to the 2nd team. Grace Stewart was recognized to the same All-Conference Team under Honorable Mentions.

Several other Jayettes were named to the Raccoon River Conference All-Academic list.

Kruger, Sidney Vancil, Adriana Eastman, Cassidy Heck and Kamryn Whelchel all received this honor by becoming a letter winner and obtaining a GPA of 3.25 or higher.

Vancil was also named to the Iowa Girls Coaches Association Academic All-State list. In order to make it into this group, a student-athlete must be a senior, have a GPA of 3.75 or higher and must have scored a 27 or higher on the ACTs.

The entire Perry softball team received the IGHSAU Distinguished Academic Team Award, which is given to teams with a combined GPA of 3.25 or higher.

The Jayettes are coached by Tina Lutterman and Ashley Fricke.