JDMPR committee presents memorial awards to PHS seniors

Submitted to The Chief
Dave Davis, left, and Jerry Anderson present memorial awards to Perry High School seniors Hannah Peterson and Kaden Boyer. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Even though the annual scholarship and award ceremony at Perry High School was canceled in May of this year due to COVID-19 concerns, the Josh Davis Memorial Poker Run committee was still able to present their memorial awards to two very deserving high school seniors.

Joshua Davis graduated from Perry High School in 2009, enlisted in the United States Marine Corp and was ultimately killed in action in Afghanistan on May 7, 2010. Davis rests at Iowa Veterans Cemetery in Van Meter, Iowa.

The memorial poker run was started in an effort to help the Davis family, who still reside in Perry, give an award to a high school senior in Josh’ honor.

The 2019-2020 recipients are Kaden Boyer and Hannah Peterson. Both students were selected by the committee for their hard work as students.

In addition to the two $1,500 memorial awards to Boyer and Peterson, other funds were donated to Wreaths Across America, Patriot Guard Riders, Iowa Thunder, Retrieving Freedom, Puppy Jake Foundation as well as several other fire, police and veteran organizations.

The 10th and final Josh Davis Memorial Poker Run will be Saturday, August 8, 2020. Kickstands up at 10:15 a.m. at Perry Elks Lodge. For more information about donating to or attending the ride, contact the committee at www.facebook.com/JoshDavisMemorialPokerRun.