PCSD included in Iowa Public Television’s “Ready for School” Communities

Staff Report

Perry Community School District has been officially added to Iowa Public Television’s “Ready for School” communities program, according to a press release by IPTV. The program helps enrich the education of students ages two through eight years old through literacy and math-based activities.

“Iowa Public Television has been a huge, huge supporter of our PACES program because they see how it works, what it does for our kids and it’s outstanding,” said Superintendent Clark Wicks.

According to a press release from IPTV: “Iowa Public Television uses the power of technology and media to spark children’s curiosity and excite them about learning,” said Ken Harrison, director of Educational Services at IPTV. “‘Ready for School’ activities are designed to enhance early reading and math skills for young children. This roll-out to the 2017-18 communities furthers IPTV’s efforts to serve families across Iowa with trusted educational content.”

IPTV’s fifth year of “Ready for School” will focus on giving all children equal opportunity to succeed. IPTV will provide access to high-quality educational media resources including online games, instructional materials and educational activities that help children increase their school readiness and success. The multimedia content and related activities are based upon the work of educational children’s programming from PBS, such as “The Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About That!”, “The Electric Company”, “Odd Squad”, “Martha Speaks”, “Peg + Cat and Super WHY!”

“We got a humongous tote that’s full of the curriculum [and] full of math and enrichment games,” said Mary Hillman, PACES Director.

PCSD was chosen as a recipient of this year’s program.

“They picked us because they know we will literally utilize the resources,” Hillman said. “They’ve been a wonderful partner for us and I think we can benefit from this.”

Other “Ready for School” communities include:

Council Bluffs Community School District

Des Moines Independent Community School District

Fort Dodge Community School District

Maquoketa Valley Community School District

North Fayette Valley Community School District

Starmont Community School District

Waterloo Community School District

West Central Community School District

West Des Moines Community School District