Nominations open for DMACC Small Business Awards

Special to the Perry Chief

Nominations are being accepted for the 2016 Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) Small Business Awards.

Businesses will be honored in five categories; Most Innovative, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Dennis Albaugh Award, Top Growth Company and Small Business of the Year.

The application deadline is June 30, 2016.

“The DMACC Small Business Awards have grown into a premiere awards event. The caliber and quantity of nominations, sponsorship support and attendance has increased each year,” said event organizer and DMACC Entrepreneurship Program Chair Vada Grantham. “There are so many innovative leaders and amazing entrepreneurs in Iowa, we are looking forward to honoring them again in 2016.”

The Small Business Awards will also honor the winner of the DMACC Foundation $10,000 Entrepreneurship Competition.

The competition, which wrapped up in May, was open to current DMACC students or DMACC alumni operating a business in Iowa.

The 4th Annual DMACC Small Business Awards will be held Sept. 20 at 5 p.m. at the DMACC Ankeny campus FFA Enrichment Center. The ceremony includes a cocktail reception, dinner, a program and a video presentation highlighting each award winner. The ticketed event is open to the public.

To submit an application for the 2016 DMACC Small Business Awards click here.

Mediacom is the presenting sponsor and will show a delayed broadcast of the event.

2015 winners include:

Most Innovative Company,1Comm Medical, Inc. 1COMM Medical Inc. is a company devoted to providing physician and health care organizations turnkey solutions for medical device patient monitoring and billing services. They are located in Ankeny.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Jeremiah Terhawk, owner of WebSpec Design. WebSpec Design is a Des Moines-based company that provides web development, software development, custom designs for websites, marketing materials, SEO campaign management including Google AdWords management and content writing services to businesses around Des Moines and throughout Iowa.

Top Growth Company, Murphy Tower Service, LLC. Murphy Tower Service specializing in building and maintaining wireless and broadcast communications sites and develops implements and maintains their customers’ network infrastructure and provides network consulting. They are located in Carlisle.

Dennis Albaugh Award, Pete Ranallo, owner of Ranallo’s on 3rd. Ranallo’s on 3rd is an Ankeny restaurant, catering and banquet business owned by former DMACC Iowa Culinary Institute graduate Pete Ranallo. The award is named after DMACC graduate Dennis Albaugh, the founder of Albaugh Inc., a distributor of chemicals used for crop protection.

Small Business of the Year, Thombert, Inc. Thombert, located in Newton and Brooklyn, IA, is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of polyurethane wheels and tires for narrow aisle lift trucks.

$10,000 DMACC Foundation Entrepreneurship Competition, Titan Immel, owner of Aerofarming, LLC of Adair. Aerofarming, LLC is an agriculture field health prescription farming service that provides farmers with the most accurate date to this day with the use of drones.