Woodward-Granger's Cody Fisher is one of the top seven finalists in Class 2A for the annual Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year Award.

The Dan Gable Mr. and Ms. Wrestler of the Year Awards are presented by Fareway and BodyArmor in coordination with IAwrestle and the Iowa High School Wrestling Coaches Association (IWCOA).

The IWCOA accepted nominations from high school coaches for student athletes in each of the three state wrestling classes for the men and combined all classes for the women's award, regardless of their year in school and weight class. A committee selected by the IWCOA provided IAwrestle with a list of seven finalist candidates for public input.

Fans have the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category until Feb. 7, when votes will be tallied from IWCOA and the fan vote to reach the top three. The finalists will be invited to IAWrestle's premier event on March 14, War at the West Gym on the University of Northern Iowa campus, where a winner will be announced in each category prior to the event.

The two runner-up student athletes in each category will each receive finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

Fans can vote online at IAwrestle.com.

The top seven in Class 2A include:

Adam Ahrendsen – Union, LaPorte City

Will Esmoil – West Liberty

Cody Fisher – Woodward Granger

Carter Fousek – Cresco, Crestwood

Hayden Taylor – Solon

Wyatt Voelker – West Delaware

Sage Walker – Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont