The Perry City Council met at 6 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 15 in the Security Bank Building. Council Member Randy McCaulley was absent.

Here are three things you may have missed:

1. Council passes resolution to submit full application for Iowa Great Places project

The Perry City Council passed a resolution in support of the City of Perry submitting a full application for the Iowa Great Places project during the Oct. 15 meeting. The City of Perry was redesignated as an Iowa Great Place in July. The City of Perry intends to submit a full application to the Iowa Arts Council and Department of Cultural Affairs requesting funds with a local match.

City Administrator Sven Peterson said the requested funds would be used for stream bank restoration and other improvements along Frog Creek. The restoration and improvements, he added, would be primarily from Highway 141 to where the trail crosses Frog Creek south of Perkins Park. Peterson said the City will also be applying for Iowa Department of Land Stewardship funds. The City of Perry’s commitment to the project is $100,000 from the storm water utility fund and $50,000 local option. Peterson added that the project would be budgeted in January for the next fiscal year.

2. Council approves appointments to Perry Economic Development

The Perry City Council approved the appointment of Scott Finneseth to replace Randy McCaulley and renewed the appointment of Terry Nielsen to Perry Economic Development.

“We sure want to thank Randy for his service,” Mayor John Andorf said.

3. Council accepts resignation from Historic Preservation Commission

The Perry City Council accepted the resignation of John Palmer from the Historic Preservation Commission, effective Nov. 1, 2018. Palmer has been on the Historic Preservation Commission for the past 10 years.

“John has done a nice job,” said Council Member Dean Berkland.

“We want to thank him for his long, dedicated service and hopefully he’ll continue on he indicated that he will in another capacity,” Andorf said.

Palmer indicated that he would like to be considered a non-voting associate member of the Historic Preservation Commission.