Perry’s wrestling squad was unable to nab a win in their first duals of the new year versus two familiar foes.

At Bondurant-Farrar on Jan. 4, Perry dropped their first meet 57-23 to fellow visitors the Van Meter Bulldogs and were edged out 43-38 in their second meet versus the host Bluejays.

“Both opponents certainly had some skilled wrestlers and individuals who wanted to win,” Perry’s head coach Mark Weber said. “I know that the break attributed to the lagged start for a few wrestlers if they had inconsistent practice attendance over break, but many of the varsity wrestlers were working hard over break.”

In their 34-point loss three Perry grapplers, Kaleb Olejniczak (126), Jacob Nelson (132) and Zach Stewart (138) sported back-to-back-to-back pinfall wins.

After Perry’s Zachary Thompson (120) earned a 19-4 technical fall victory, Olejniczak took down Tyler Haynes 95 seconds into the second period.

Nelson followed with his 53-second victory in the second period against Zach Pleggenkuhle.

The squad’s final points of the match came from Stewart who also recorded his victory in the second period at a minute and 22 seconds when he pinned Cade Costlow.

It was a much better outing for Perry, albeit still a loss, when they faced off against Bondurant-Farrar.

Once again Thompson scored the team’s first points when he needed just a minute to pin Kanon Ekstam.

Perry earned another six points the following match when Olejniczak recorded his second pin of the night after his win over Aiden Lewis in 56 seconds. A match later Stewart earned five points after defeating Ethan Smith with a 22-6 TF.

Teammate Wilbur Ramirez (145) followed with a 12-8 decision over Ivan Kruse. Perry’s Jered Narber added another six points after defeating Gavin Crees with 19 seconds remaining in the first period.

The Perry squad recorded their final six points of the night when Cole Snyder (170) pinned Josh Doty 87 seconds into the second period.

Perry will look to earn some wins this coming Saturday, Jan. 6th, when they travel to Ames for the Jack Mendenhall Invitational.