Many Perry High School winter sports athletes received individual honors and awards for their outstanding performances throughout their respective seasons this winter.

From the wrestling mat to the hardwood, numerous athletes received all-state and substate nods, academic honors, Raccoon River Conference class-3A recognition and an all-star selection.

Starting things off was Janier Puente, senior basketball player, who earned a Class-3A, Substate 2 All Substate Honoree.

He was also a unanimous selection to the RRC All-Conference basketball team along with fellow basketball standout Grace Marburger, Jayette senior, who not only received a unanimous selection, she also received a number of awards.

First she was given the Class 4A IGVA Team All-State honors and then earned a Class 4A INA third team All-State selection.

Marburger’s basketball skills will be on display on April 1 after being selected to participate in the 2017 Iowa Girls Coaches Association Larry Niemeyer Senior Girls Basketball All Star Game Series.

She will participate in the 4A/5A Game on April 1 at Kirkwood College in Cedar Rapids.

Other basketball teammates selected to the RRC All-Conference team:

Johanna Diw: 2nd Team

Kyle Nevitt: 2nd Team

Emma Olejniczak: 2nd Team

Rashon Ivory: Honorable Mention

Molly Lutmer: Honorable Mention

The Jayettes won 15 of 21 games and made it to the second round of Class 4A regional action. The Bluejays won 12 of 22 games including a first round postseason win against the Gilbert Tigers.

The Bluejays and Jayettes basketball players along with a number of Perry wrestlers combined for 18 academic honors awards. This award recognized athletes who maintained a GPA of 3.25 or higher:

Grace Marburger, Juma Bushiri, Tyler Soll, Emma Olejniczak, Jacob Huffman, Miguel Gonzalez, Madelynn West, Brandon Kenyon, Zachary Thompson, Isabel Saemisch, Connor Nielsen, Kaleb Olejniczak, Dane McCarty, Star Love, Kasandra Medina, Noah Wilkening, Adan Medina, Kitzya Soto.

Gaby Chavez, Delaney Eiteman, Star Love, Elaine Thomason, Emily Debord, Katelyn Thomason were members of the Perry High School Dance Squad who received academic honors.

Star Love and Ciera Bronnenberg were selected to the ISDTA All-Iowa Dance/Drill Team.

Samantha Paullin, Angel Escobar, Madyson Hill, Breanna Penenger, Stuart Ramos, Quinn Helmers, Edwardo Medina, Vivian Gonzalez, Dannah Karolus, Miguel Constanza, Karen Romero, Eion Davis, Cesar Ramirez, Ricardo Morales, Claudia Vargas, Lainey Thomason, Adriana Eastman, Allie Taggart, Cassidy Heck, Alex Tapia, Yordi Mena, Allie Hopkins, Hannah Peterson, Anthony Aragon and Amos Munoz were members of the 2017 Raccoon River Conference Honor Band.