Christopher McConahay, the son of Mark and Kim McConahay of Granger, graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of Northern Iowa on May 6 with degrees in marketing and economics. He also received the Purple and Old Gold Award for Economics, which is given to the graduating senior with the highest cumulative GPA.

He was selected to deliver the undergraduate student address at the commencement ceremony.

He will begin his career at Cottingham and Butler, an insurance brokerage in Dubuque.

Other Area Education Honors

Buena Vista University - Storm Lake

Taylor Wieland, of Perry, received a Student Organization Leader award for her role in the Buena Vista University Art Club, one of more than 57 organizations available on campus. These leaders provide guidance and motivation to their clubs and attend campus-wide meetings to share knowledge and build skills.

Iowa State University - Ames



Morgan Carroll, Bachelor of Arts, Women’s Studies, Religious Studies

Kylee Funk, Bachelor of Science, Dietetics (H SCI)

Tyler Lesch, Bachelor of Science, Agricultural Studies

Brandon Sexton, Bachelor of Science, Supply Chain Management, Magna Cum Laude

Jared Smiley, Bachelor of Science, Electrical Engineering, and an MBA


Araceli Guzman, Bachelor of Fine Arts, Interior Design

Levi Halling, Bachelor of Science, Agronomy, Seed Science

Vanessa Hunt, Bachelor of Science, Animal Science

Allisa Kliewer, Bachelor of Science, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design

Irhet Navarrete, Bachelor of Arts, Interdisciplinary Studies, Sociology

Matthew Parris, Bachelor of Liberal Studies, Liberal Studies

Dakota Pratt, Bachelor of Arts, Interdisciplinary Studies, Sociology, Magna Cum Laude

Rachel Rothmeyer, Bachelor of Science, Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude

Shanon Thompson, Bachelor of Science, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design


Charles Spellman, Bachelor of Arts, Advertising

MidAmerica Nazarene University - Olathe, Kan.

David J. Swenson, of Perry, was named to the Dean’s List.

South Dakota State University - Brookings, S.D.

William Keith Whiton, of Perry, was named to the Dean’s List.